Things I Don’t Like About Television, Episode 11: Drug Commercials

Originally, this was going to be about pharmaceutical commercials, but since I’ve changed the title, this topic can go two ways, actually.

Of course, I have come across so many commercials that got on my nerves over the years. Some have been repeated ad nauseum. Some have terrible music and/or singing. There are commercials which make it obvious that they were cheaply made. There are those sleazy commercials advertising Girls Gone Wild or sex hotlines.

And then there are drug commercials. I consider pharmaceutical commercials to be among the worst forms of advertising. The same goes for anti-drug commercials. Pharmaceutical commercials will still inspire most of my ire, though.


Why I Loathe Pharmaceutical Commercials

I never liked these commercials to be quite honest. First, they were commercials and only a few at a time can even elicit positive responses from me. Beyond that, when I sat down and really thought about it, there are at now at least five reasons this form of advertising bothers me.

Continue reading “Things I Don’t Like About Television, Episode 11: Drug Commercials”

What Is My Audience?

Working on Assignment 4 for Blogging 101…

Figuring Things Out

This is a pretty hard assignment because, admittedly, I never really target a specific audience when I started writing blog posts. As I said in my first assignment, I write initially for myself. Each blog I run is a diary of sorts, albeit with curated thoughts I feel relatively comfortable sharing with the public. So, as anyone could read what I wrote, anyone with an account on the sites where I posted could respond to most of my posts.

That said, it really is important to think about my audience. Since these posts are public, my content needs to appeal to those who would follow me. And I might gain more followers by appealing to specific groups.

It probably starts by thinking about the type of reader I am and what interests me. I have so many thoughts and want to write about the many things that interest me. For starters, I like to follow sports. I’m interested in politics, anime, and manga. Of course, it doesn’t end there.

Continue reading “What Is My Audience?”

Following Blogs and Tags

Here’s my work for Assignment 3 in Blogging 101. For this assignment, I had to follow 5 tags in the WordPress Reader and follow 5 (more) blogs.


Assignment 3 Is Complete

Like others have said, I had no idea we could follow tags. Now, five have been added. Also, the advice from @michelleweber was extremely helpful. More specific tags narrowed down the search for blogs that interested me. I now follow 5 more blogs.


I didn’t say it then, but the five tags I followed are: American-football, rhythm-and-blues, genetics, manga-recommendations, and digital-art. These are five things that interest me the most. When I’m following your blog, you’ll know. (Ha-ha!)

Tagline Creation

I have decided to share my work for Assignment 2 from Blogging 101 on this blog. The assignment called for participants to create taglines for their blogs. Below are my thoughts on the process.


Hello Again, Working on Assignment 2

This is admittedly a difficult assignment for me. I want my tagline to tell any visitors to my site about me and my content in only a few words, but there’s a lot I want to convey. Also, I don’t want my tagline to look too generic. Here are some attempts:

  • An Artist with Many Thoughts on Anime, Money, Politics, Sports, etc.
  • An aspiring artist and writer with a lot on her mind.
  • An aspiring artist and writer who needs over 10,000 characters.
  • Finding my voice in over 10,000 characters.

Continue reading “Tagline Creation”