Things I Don’t Like About Television, Episode 10: Commercials

Now, I don’t rue the existence of commercials. I know what they’re for and the networks have to pay the bills. Also, for us to see many programs [relatively] free, this comes in the form of sponsors. Commercials have been a reality since the first mainstream radio shows, so they would of course follow to television.

And there are some commercials I really love. Some of the Flo (from Progressive) spots are funny to me and I loved the Mayhem commercials from Allstate. Budweiser has long been known as a business with a creative advertising department and even some of its older spots are still memorable today.

That said, there are at least three things that bother more about commercials that bother me about network television (and basic cable stations, like Comedy Central).

Continue reading “Things I Don’t Like About Television, Episode 10: Commercials”