COVID-19 Discourse: What Are We Doing, and Where Do We Go from Here?

Image by geralt, via Pixabay

It’s been a while since I posted on this blog, but I’m writing tonight to say that the COVID-19 discourse bothers me. Most of the contentiousness involves vaccines and treatments (namely Ivermectin). Also, I have seen the effect that these discussions have had on people.

I may make a series of posts on the subject, but that would require a lot of research and commitment. However, there is at least one post that I have started working on that is pressing.


What Is Bothering Me About the COVID-19 Discourse?

Off the top of my head, these aspects of the pandemic have bothered me:

  • The pandemic response by the United States government
  • How people politicized the pandemic from the beginning
  • How fear has turned people against each other
  • Propaganda (its effectiveness, how blatant it is, how it has contributed to people turning people against each other)
  • The effects shutdowns have had on individuals and small businesses
  • Other things that the pandemic has exposed about various governments, human nature, and society at large

After more than a year and a half, I have barely taken part in discussions about COVID-19. For the most part, these discussions have been landmines. Talk about vaccines and treatments has been the most contentious from multiple angles. However, I have noticed that people with a specific political outlook have been responsible for most toxicity.


What Would I Like to Talk About Regarding the COVID-19 Discourse?

If I do make some in-depth posts about the pandemic, these are a few of the topics that I would like to talk about:

  • This pandemic has shown me the worst of humanity.
  • What makes someone an “anti-vaxxer?”
  • What should we have done to deal with the pandemic properly?
  • Why are we turning on each other?
  • Was Joe Biden right in calling this “the pandemic of the unvaccinated”?

If I do get around to making these posts, I will go back to this one and add the links here.

2 thoughts on “COVID-19 Discourse: What Are We Doing, and Where Do We Go from Here?

  1. Miserable Ol' Bastard

    I can’t work, so I just sort of hunkered down and waited out this pandemic. Always a careful observer, I listened to my police scanner a lot. I was so disheartened as I listened to the calls go out for domestic violence incidents, suicidal people, and overdoses and intoxicated people. People today are not built for such crises as a pandemic. They are pampered from the cradle, overprotective parents have sheltered their children from any distress. I’m not taking a shot at younger generations, but many seem to have weathered this storm poorly.
    I am apolitical, so I really can’t comment on any person in particular, but both the right and the left have not helped.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One thing you mentioned is an overlooked aspect of this pandemic: domestic abuse. I didn’t think about that when the shutdowns started because my situation is relatively stable. However, I realize that some men, women, and children were/are stuck in abusive situations. The situation undoubtedly made things so much worse for them.

      The pandemic has also made homelessness worse, also compounded by the general lack of healthcare.

      I think that some people struggled with the shutdowns because they are social people. They prefer to be outdoors and among large groups of people. I’m not a psychiatrist, so I cannot say anything about the people who were suicidal. However, I can understand that being locked down can exacerbate feelings of loneliness and isolation when people live by themselves.

      Like

Have any thoughts on the subject? Time’s yours.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.