Firefox Rant

I just want to take a short break from my series of posts to complain about Firefox.

I first used this browser in 2010 I believe, so it was still in its relative infancy. By that, I mean, the main version was in single digits. The third version, with its periodic updates, was fairly good. I was previously using IE8 (I know, I know), and had been bothered by one particular banner ad that took up my broadband on NF. When I finally installed Firefox and used AdBlock, I was amazed by how fast the browser worked, even on my old notebook at the time. It also helped that it was free!

When I finally upgraded to a larger laptop, one of my first actions was to get Firefox. By that time (2011), version 4.0 was out. It was all right, but I liked the 3.xx.xx versions if you know what I mean. The browser was still good, though, and it was customizable. I played with the colors, and tried new apps, but I was careful to look at reviews and when I saw reports about which ones were necessary and safe, I adjusted accordingly.

Now, red flags went up when Firefox came out with the 5.0, 6.0, and 7.0, etc., versions in quick succession. What’s with all the updates?

The updates keep coming, of course. As I post this, we are on version 41.01.00 I think. That’s a lot of updates in five years and I don’t know if all these are necessary. Why can’t some versions have smaller updates and then be fully upgraded after a year at the least?

With each update comes a new set of problems. Version 7.0 was particularly bothersome because it wouldn’t allow users to upload images on some safe sites. Sometimes, features I liked in some of these versions were eschewed. Often, some apps I use are not [immediately] compatible with the newest version [if at all].

Another problem with Firefox is that there the periods of no response. At one point in the 20’s or 30’s, Adobe Shockwave Flash started acting up. That is an Adobe problem, but this has been more of an issue when using Firefox, as opposed to Google Chrome. It think that is because one cannot have more than 5-6 tabs open on FF and Flash can be loading in each tab at the same time. Also, after using FF for more than 2 hours, the browser keeps crashing on me. This is even after I close the damn thing.

Yet another gripe I have is with the process of updating. At one point, the update could be forced. When it isn’t, I will get this window:

What is that? It doesn’t matter how big the screen is, that window I’m using is always wider.

Now, I will still use FireFox for several reasons. It has more add-ons, it loads faster than browsers like Chrome, there is more security than you would find on browsers like IE or Edge, more of a webpage’s integrity is kept, and it loads images fairly well. I can also view PDF’s without doing a full download. However, if the problems I listed persist and are compounded with more BS, I may consider moving away from this browser.

Have any thoughts on the subject? Time’s yours.

